2007297532827553

A Quick List of Gluten-Free Ingredients to Avoid

 

Whether it be by necessity or by choice, living the gluten-free lifestyle is a significant change for anyone to take on and accomplish.

As a response to celiac disease or numerous other gluten-related sensitivities, or because living without gluten just makes you feel better in your everyday activities, the transition to being gluten-free is one that can be long and full of questions.   

Here is a list of foods and ingredients that contain gluten to help you when you’re at the food store. Take time to look at the labels of all your packaged foods BEFORE you purchase them. 

Watch for gluten lurking derivatives in cereal and bread and be aware of added sugars and other inflammatory ingredients in gluten-free packaged foods. 

There are great gluten-free brands out there but there are also many unhealthy gluten-free foods that line the aisles of the food store so beware.

All the best in health and beauty to you as you start and /or continue on your journey to a healthier you.

Enjoy!

 

Grains that Contain Gluten

  • Barley
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farro
  • Groats
  • Kamut
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Small spelt
  • Sprouted wheat/barley
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
  • Vital wheat gluten

Flours that Contain Gluten

  • Atta flour
  • Barley flour
  • Bleached flour
  • Brown flour
  • Enriched flours (bleached, bleached wheat, enriched)
  • Farina
  • Farina graham
  • Filler
  • Graham flour
  • Granary flour
  • Maida (Indian wheat flour)
  • Malted barley flour
  • Rye flour
  • Unbleached flours
  • Wheat flours
  • Whole-meal flours

Products that Contain Gluten

  • Alcohol
  • Barley grass
  • Barley hordeum vulgare
  • Barley malt
  • Bran
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Caramel color
  • Cereal binding
  • Cereals
  • Chilton
  • Cookie crumbs
  • Cookie dough
  • Couscous
  • Dextrins
  • Durum wheat
  • Edible coatings
  • Einkorn (triticum monococcum)
  • Flavoring
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Germ
  • Glazed ham
  • Gluten
  • Heeng
  • Hing
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Malt
  • Malted milk
  • Malt extract
  • Malt syrup
  • Malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Matza/matzah/ matzo
  • Matzo semolina
  • Meringue
  • Meripro 711
  • Mir
  • Nishasta
  • Orzo pasta
  • Pasta
  • Pearl barley
  • Rice malt
  • Rice dream milk
  • Roux
  • Rusk
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Starch
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl HWP
  • Suet in paclets
  • Sushi rice
  • Tabouli
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Udon
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat bran extract
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat nuts
  • Wheat protein
  • Wine coolers

Products that May Contain Gluten

  • Artificial color
  • Baking powder
  • Bread
  • Bread flour
  • Breaded foods
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy
  • Chips
  • Clarifying agents
  • Cookies
  • Cold Cuts
  • Coloring
  • Crackers
  • Dry roasted nuts
  • Emulsifiers
  • Fat replacers
  • Flavored coffee
  • Fried foods
  • Glucose syrup
  • Gravy
  • Seasonings
  • Hot dogs
  • Imitation sea food
  • Ice creams
  • Lunch meats
  • Maltos
  • Marinades
  • Miso (except chickpea miso)
  • Mustard
  • Non-dairy creamer
  • Oats
  • Salad dressings
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Self-basting turkey
  • Smoke flavoring
  • Soba noodles
  • Soy sauce
  • Spirits
  • Stabilizers
  • Soup stock cubes
  • Vegetable broth
  • Vegetable protein
  • Vegetable starch
  • Vitamins
  • Yeast extract

 

Head HERE for more information about gluten and getting started.

All the best in health and beauty to you as you start and /or continue on your journey to a healthier you.

xo Kassandra

 

// User Icon Setting (may be set to BLACK, WHITE or NONE):